My heart is literally overflowing with joy right now.  A few blogs back, I shared with you all how an entire tent city was blown away from a tropical sand storm.  In that tent city were about 30 of our amputee patients; more than that, I am blessed to call these beautiful people my friends.  Thankfully, they were taken care of right after the storm, and given more temporary shelter.  After talking to many of them on the phone that night, the storm was nothing to them.  Sure, their houses blew away and they lost a few of their things, but it was nothing compared to the earthquake.  Haitians were strong before the earthquake.  Now, they persevere like you wouldn’t believe.

Well, I don’t think I’ve ever been happier for anyone in my whole life than I am right now for these friends.  Thanks to a mission called Love a Child, every single handicapped person in that tent city has been given a BEAUTIFUL three room house, with a beautiful wooden kitchen table, a queen bed, and a bunk bed.  
Picture
Picture
Let me tell you HOW PROUD they are of these houses!  I had the chance to go visit all of my friends there today, and I literally cannot describe how fun it was.  Hope was restored, as finally, almost a year after the earthquake, they have a solid roof over their heads.  Life is somewhat normal now, and many of them were saying how they were ready to work again.  So many of them were walking around on their prosthetic legs, which made me feel like a proud mama!  At one point, I saw Solandine, the 5 year old patient we had come through a few months ago, RUNNING around, literally, playing with friends.  It was incredible.  (She was the first patient I’ve seen run yet!)

Thank you Jesus.

Now I’m even more excited for Mission of Hope to build homes for displaced people in our area, which they’ll start doing in just a few weeks.

Here's a few more pictures from today:  

Picture
Picture

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.